The African Commission on Nuclear Energy (AFCONE)

Under Article 12 (Mechanism for compliance) and after entry-into-force the Parties agreed to establish an African Commission on Nuclear Energy (AFCONE) in order to ensure compliance with their undertakings.


The Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT) explicitly refers to the right of any group of States to conclude regional treaties to assure “the total absence of nuclear weapons in their respective territories.”

Such regional Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zones help strengthen global nuclear non-proliferation and consolidate international efforts towards peace and security.

The Organisation of African Unity (OAU) Council of Ministers met in 1964 and took note of the draft Convention for the Denuclearization of the Continent of Africa. Following this, the Assembly of Heads of State and Government of the OAU adopted a Declaration on the Denuclearization of Africa which called upon all States to respect the continent of Africa as a nuclear weapon free-zone and committed themselves to negotiate an international agreement under the United Nations (UN) not to manufacture or control atomic weapons.

The Declaration was endorsed by the UN General Assembly in 1965.


To Be the African Organization Leader Promoting Nuclear Disarmament, Preventing Nuclear Proliferation and Coordinating & Developing All the Efforts, including of Cooperation, at the Continental Level, towards Safe and Secure Nuclear Science & Technology Programs for Peaceful Applications targeting Sustainable Social and Economic Development Charted by the AU Agenda 2063


The Commission is responsible inter alia for:

  1. Collating national reports and exchange of information;
  2. Arranging consultations as well as convening Conferences of Parties on any matter arising from the implementation of the Treaty;
  3. Reviewing the application to peaceful nuclear activities of safeguards by IAEA;
  4. Bringing into effect the complaints procedure;
  5. Encouraging regional and sub-regional programmes for cooperation in the peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology;
  6. Promoting international co-operation with extra-zonal States for the peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology.