5th CSP of State Parties to the Pelindaba Treaty (AUC Headquarters/ Addis Ababa (Ethiopia)

17 – 18 May 2022

The 5th Ordinary Session of the Conference of States Parties to the African Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zone Treaty (Treaty of Pelindaba) took place on 17-18 May 2022 at the African Union (AU) Headquarters in Addis Ababa (Ethiopia).

The 5th Ordinary Session was attended by twenty six (26) States Parties: Algeria, Benin, Cameroon, Chad, Congo, Cote d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ethiopia, Gabon, Guinea Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, the Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic, Senegal, South Africa, Tanzania, Togo, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

The opening segment included addresses delivered by (a) Mr Hadjaro Adam Senoussi (Acting Chairperson AFCONE) (b) Ambassador Calixte Aristide Mbari, Ag. Director, Governance and Conflict Prevention, Political Affairs, Peace and Security Department, Statement made on behalf of HE Ambassador Bankole (PAPS Commissioner), (c) Dr Rediet Tilahun, Director Infrastructure & Energy of the AUC Infrastructure & Energy Department, representing HE Dr Abou Zeid (I&E Commissioner).

States Parties considered the comprehensive report of AFCONE on the implementation of the Treaty, according to the Strategy Note and Programme of Work adopted by the 4th CSP in 2018. The Report highlighted the mid-term strategic plan 2021-2025 adopted by the AFCONE Commission; the Communication Strategy implemented; the numerous initiatives undertaken promoting the role played globally by the African Union and AFCONE on nuclear issues; the action plans under consideration; and strengthened cooperation with AFCONE partners in particular the UNODA, IAEA, CTBTO and OPANAL.

States Parties welcomed: (a) the signing of the Cooperation Agreements (Practical Arrangements, Memorandum of Understanding, Exchange of Letters) between the AFCONE and several partners, including UNODA, IAEA, CTBTO, Rosatom (Russia), GCNEP (Department of Energy/India), OPANAL (Latin America & Caribbean NWFZ Agency), the International Science & Technology Centre (ISTC/ Kazakhstan), ESARDA (European Commission) and AFRA; (b) the consultation underway related to the formalisation of such cooperation agreements with the Forum of Nuclear Regulatory Bodies in Africa (FNRBA), the Central Asia NWFZ and other African Union Strategic Partners (European Commission/Euratom, China, Japan, Korea).

State Parties took note of the AFCONE Commission proposal and arguments presented related to the integration of the AFCONE Commission to the African Union Institutional Reform Process. States Parties agreed that the AFCONE Commission will establish a task team to consider the legal, administrative, and budgetary implications and report to the Pelindaba Treaty Review Conference which was proposed for 2023 and/or the next 6th CSP planned in 2024.

States Parties discussed and resolved to adopt the program of work proposed by AFCONE for the period 2021-2023. They noted that the proposed program of work aims to implement, budget allowing, the mid-term strategic plan 2021-2025 and progressively establish AFCONE’s unique mandate according to its Commission Dashboard, underlining the full use of the existing nuclear infrastructure, optimising the programmatic budget, focusing on the AFCONE missions as a unique Treaty Body in Africa mandated to advise and support the African Union & AU Organs & the AU Commission to address nuclear matters. Additionally, the proposed program of work aims to build capacity in nuclear science and technology to address the African demand for peaceful nuclear applications in contribution to the AU’s Agenda 2063 and the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), as well as strengthening Nuclear Safety, Security and Safeguards and Cooperation activities.

The States Parties proceeded with elections of a new Commission in line with the relevant provisions of Annex III of the Treaty of Pelindaba. The following twelve (12) State Parties were elected by acclamation by the 5th CSP: Algeria, Congo, Republic Democratic of Congo, Cote d’Ivoire, Niger, Libya, Mauritania, Mauritius, Namibia, South Africa, Tanzania and Zimbabwe.

Concept Note
Opening Speech by Dr Kamugisha Kazaura
Tentative Agenda
Acting Chairperson 5thCSP Opening Remarks
PAPS Statement CSP5