AFCONE Commemoration of the 25th Anniversary of the Pelindaba Treaty Opening for Signature

(12 April 2021)  

On 12 April 2021, the African Commission on Nuclear Energy (AFCONE) commemorated the 25th Anniversary of the opening for signature of the African Nuclear Weapon Free Zone Treaty (Pelindaba Treaty).

Several High-Level Officials delivered Statements.

The AFCONE is convinced that internationally recognized nuclear-weapon-free zones are making an important contribution to the international disarmament and non-proliferation regime, to the maintenance of international peace and security as well as to the safe and secure peaceful uses of the nuclear energy.  

HE Amb Bonzanini Statement
HE ES Zerbo Statement
HE Minister Dr Pandor
HE Ms Nakamitsu
HE Sabri Boukadoum MFA Algeria
HE TEO Message
HE TEO Message Chair of ExCom SEANWFZ to Pelindaba Treaty
Ms Beatrice Fihn ICAN Executive Director
Mr Messaoud Baaliouamer, Executive Secretary of the African Commission on Nuclear Energy
Dr Naledi Pandor, Minister of International Relations and Cooperation of the Republic of South Africa
Ms. Izumi Nakamitsu, United Nations High Representative for Disarmament Affairs(UNODA)
Amb. Gustavo Zlauvinen, President-designate of the Tenth Review Conference of the Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT)
Amb. Flávio Roberto Bonzanini, Secretary-General of the OPANAL, Tlatelolco Treaty Agency for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in Latin America, and the Caribbean
Amb Nuran S Niyazaliyev, First Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Kyrgyz Republic, Chair of Central Asia Nuclear Weapon Free Zone (CA-NWFZ) Semipalatinsk Treaty
Ms Emaleen Abdul Rahman Teo, Permanent Secretary at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Brunei Darussalam and Chair of the Executive Committee of the SEA-NWFZ Commission
Amb. Rafael M. Grossi, Director-General of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)
Dr Lassina Zerbo, Executive Secretary of the Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty Organisation (CTBTO)
Ms Beatrice FIHN, Executive Director. International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN)
Mr. M. Kondratenkov, Non-Proliferation & Arms Control Department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs. (Russia)