AFCONE AUC UNEP EC IAEA Webinar on “Fostering the African Environmental Legislation and Regulations integrating the Provisions of the Pelindaba Treaty related to the Appropriate Management of Radioactive Wastes”

31 May 2021 

AFCONE organised this Meeting on the “ Management of Radioactive Wastes in Africa” in Close Cooperation with the IAEA Nuclear Safety and Security Department, the UNEP Office in Africa, Two Experts from the Continent and the European Commission Representative.

The Speakers highlighted the importance to allocate to this subject at the very beginning of any peaceful uses of nuclear energy and during all the implementation of the programme & project, considering the IAEA & International standards adopted.

The IAEA Head of Department and Section Head presented the important support the Agency is providing to the Continent.

The UNEP Africa Office developed the efforts made in the fields and the promotion of the Bamako Convention Provisions.

The current status related to the Subject was presented by the GAEC Expert, raising the results obtained under RAF Projects and showing the level of development of the Borehole Concept in Ghana

As a model in Africa, the National Radioactive Waste Disposal institute (NRWDI)/ South Africa was described by its CEO, describing the national legislation and regulations promulgated.

The EC Representative presented the Framework in which radioactive wastes are managed at the European Level and detailed the Directive 70/2011/Euratom.  

Concrete and Practical Proposals have been made to Optimise, Develop and Sustain the African Programs.  

Concept Note
Welcoming and Introduction – Messaoud BAALIOUAMER
Opening Remarks – Mr Frank Turyatunga
Opening remarks – Ms Lydie Evrard
Closing remarks by Mr. Mickel Edwerd
Closing Remarks made by Dr Mrabbit FNRBA
Take Home Messages from the Speakers
Dr Eric Tetteh Glover (Expert in Radioactive Wastes) Ghana Atomic Energy Commission
Mr Muhammed Omutola, Associate Programme Officer in the Pollution and Health Unit. UNEP (Africa Office)
Ms Anna Clark (Section Head/ Waste & Environment Safety/NSS/IAEA)
Mr. Alan Carolissen, Chief Executive Officer. National Radioactive Waste Disposal Institute of South Africa (NRWDI)
Mr Mate Kukovecz, Representative of the DG ENER (EU Commission)