AFCONE Call for Regional Collaborating Centres in Nuclear Safeguards & Nuclear Safety and Security


In line with the provisions of the Pelindaba Treaty, the African Commission on Nuclear Energy, which promotes and provides support to African Union Member States to develop their knowledge and capabilities towards the safe and secure peaceful uses of nuclear technology on the continent, is pleased to announce the establishment of the Regional Collaborating Centres Scheme.

This Scheme aims to provide the AFCONE with an instrument to designate eligible Pelindaba Treaty State Party and Signatory institutions as partners that assist the AFCONE in implementing its selected programmatic activities. Once designated, through an audit process, an AFCONE Regional Collaborating Centre shall assist the AFCONE in implementing, including through Technical Cooperation among Developing Countries (TCDC) modalities, selected programmatic activities targeting improvement in nuclear safeguards  & nuclear safety and security implementation in Africa, in accordance with the Pelindaba Treaty Provisions and the IAEA Standards and Norms.

In line with the above, the AFCONE has the honour to request Member States to submit appropriate candidatures documents for “AFCONE Regional Collaborating Centres” in Nuclear Safeguards Management & Nuclear Safety and Security according to the format shared with the Countries. The closing date for submission of candidates is 30 August 2020.

Nuclear Safeguards AFCONE Collaborating Centres Fin Ver 29 May 2020

Nuclear Safety & Security AFCONE Reg Collab Centres Vers 30 06 2020